Departmental Contacts

Department Contacts are UCU members who have volunteered to be a link between the Branch Committee and members located in particular parts of the university. In such a large organisation they play an important role on behalf of the union.  There is no ‘job spec’ for Departmental Contacts – some are happy to offer help and advice, others are happy to point members with a query in the right direction.

If you work in an area with a Department Contact (see below) you may want to approach them in the first instance if you have a query. If they can’t help, they will be able to direct you to someone who can.  If the area you work is is not listed below, it is because we do not have a Department Contact for your area. Perhaps you might be willing to take it on?  The role does not need to be onerous, and there is always help available.  If you’d like to discuss the issue informally with a committee member then email us at and someone will be in touch.


American and Canadian Studies Maria Ryan
Architecture and the Built Environment Peter Rutherford
Biosciences Tim Parr
Chemistry Oscar Siles-Brügge
Civil Engineering Nick Thom
Computer Science Venanzio Capretta
Counselling Sarah Hinds
Culture Film and Media Jen Birks
Economics Steve Leybourne
Education (inc CELE) David Murphy
Electrical and Electronic Engineering Leah Ridgeway
English Lila Matsumoto
FABS Angela Lees
French Katherine Shingler
Geography Nick Clare
German Studies Bram Mertens
Health Sciences
History Dean Blackburn
History of Art Richard Wrigley
Information Systems Andrew Armstrong
Law Agnes Flues
Libraries Tony Simmonds
Life Sciences Lopa Leach
Life Sciences Tom Reader
Life Sciences
Mathematical Sciences Alan Barker, David Hodge, David Sirl
Medicine Martyn Harling
Music Joff Spittlehouse
Nottingham University Business School Marek Korcynski
Philosophy Joseph Kisolo-Ssonko
Physics and Astronomy John Owers-Bradley
Politics and International Relations Andreas Fulda
Psychology Claire Lawrence
Russian and Slavonic Studies
Sociology and Social Policy Nick Stevenson
Spanish, Portugese and Latin American Studies Jane-Marie Collins, Adam Sharman
Veterinary Medicine and Science Cyril Rauch